My messy brain work · Uncategorized

First blog post 开篇大吉

I’m interested in seeing how food shapes out life. I want to explore how food and cooking are influenced by globalisation, and how they impact the development of globalisation at the same time. Mostly, I want to bring some meaning to my life and share my life with you.

I’m a Chinese living on my own, a Shengnv or ‘leftover woman’, under the Chinese standard. However, I’m somehow proud of my life.

I haven’t traveled the entire world, but I have seen a lot. I’ve met some of the most interesting people in the world, interviewed and filmed some of the most important figures, reported some of the biggest news stories, won some of the world’s most prestigious news awards. I’ve seen the human suffering in refugee camps or rubbish dumps; I’ve seen new-born baby came to this world. I’ve eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world, I’ve also eaten in some of the most gruesome places. I’ve slept in places I would never want to recall, I’ve also stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels in the world.

I’m from a small and insignificant river town at China’s Yangtze Delta, and in exile for more than a decade in cities like Beijing, Shanghai and London.

I kinda feel, and I hope you might find some agreement in this, that I’m now in a stage of my life that I do have something to say and to share with people around my age and younger who are, like I am, fighting along the way of life to stand firm in this scary and brutal world.

It is really tough for women like us, who’s basically, alone, to survive and to live a happy life. I hope my writing can make some sense to you about this world, and to remind my fellow girls, to never stop pursuing, never stop laughing, and never stop appreciating food and cooking!


哎呀,我真是挺不擅长说这些的。

我是学全球化的,但我最爱干的事儿,就是做饭。每每我做饭的时候,就能感受到我们今天的饮食是受到了多么巨大的全球化的影响;而我们吃的食物,又很大程度上的影响到全球化的发展。于是我就想试试看,能不能更深入的探讨下这个问题。

我30多了,一个人,主要住在北京。在中国,我就是个典型的剩女。然而,那又怎么样?一定程度上来说,能成为一个“剩女”,是我的荣幸!

我没法跟你说,我已经看遍了这个世界了,我并没有。但是呢,十多年的记者生涯,全亚洲的乱跑,也算是见过世面了。乞丐难民我也采访过了,首相总统我也采访过了,好莱坞明星我采访过了,贝克汉姆我也采访过了,北韩核危机我采访过了,中美第一夫人的时尚品味我也采访过了。全世界最棒的食物我吃过,最糟糕的也尝过;最可怕的地方我睡过了,最奢华的酒店我也住过。

我希望,我能有这个能力和经验来与你们分享关于这个可怕的世界和我们无法停止的挣扎。活在这个世界上对大部分的我们来讲都是不易的,尤其是对女性。

但是,姐妹们(还有许多可爱的哥们儿们),无论何时何地,我们都不要忘记了,我们总是可以有追求,总是可以有笑容,总是有美食和爱,不易辜负。

Leave a Reply

